C is teaching a CPR class today, and I work until midnight, so 1am when he is snuggled in bed is never a time for pondering life altering questions.  I couldn’t gather the strength to call him and have to form the words from my mouth, so I chickened out and sent him the text instead.”Okay so Hungary is open to Canadians adopting, the children are between 3 and 7.  Do you want to adopt a boy at the age of 3?” I took a deep breath.. my palms sweaty holding my blackberry in my hand.  I waited for his reply.  What feels like 2 hours was really only a matter of moments before my blackberry sprung to life.   I was ready to tell him the pros and cons of adopting an older child, cons being we miss the baby experience, the diaper changing the late nights, the many firsts most parents cherish, the bonding issues.  Then I came up with the pros, we miss the diaper changes, the late nights, the highchairs, cribs, dog-proofing, the ever changing car seats, mega strollers, baby stuff that if we were to adopt a younger child would be used for about 4 months and then turfed.  The pro that he can walk, talk, and the potty training is done, we eat the same foods, the kids in the neighbourhood are around the same age, we can begin the fun stuff now, the sports, hockey, and swimming, learning, exploring and the understanding.  I closed my eyes and opened the message.  Just one word.  “YES!!”

On a side note, I took Bryan to the vet this morning as for the past few days when he jumped on the bed or ran up the stairs he has done something to himself and ends up yelping and screaming in pain, requires holding and consoling for 10 minutes as he cries, shakes and whimpers.  It is so heartbreaking to see, and rather frightening to hear (I worry the neighbours think we are beating him).  Well our Bryan true to form mention vet and he is “all better now, thanks”.  Isn’t he doing cartwheels and all tail wags for the ladies behind the counter, doesn’t he show the vet that he is as limber as a Russian gymnast, allowing the Dr. to manipulate his joints in every fashion with a look of ease and smug satisfaction upon his face.  I am sure he was laughing all the way home after I paid $45 to waste the vets time yet again.  I think he has a crush on the Vets assistant.  So Bryan is on ‘doggie rest’ no running, jumping, major walks or playing for 2 weeks.  We are hopeful that it will get better. 

